A Matter of Perspective

I recently went through an old box belonging to my family that held many precious memories. It included hundreds of photos featuring the childhood of me and my 2 siblings. I longed to go back to the days when all I had to worry about was how much trouble I would be in for driving my Barbie jeep through the giant rain puddle in the middle of the cul-de-sac. I missed the simple life of being a child. Then I realized, it was not simple for me at all. It wasn’t simple for any of us. As children, we face our own devastating problems that we think will ruin our lives.

I absolutely HATED my sister at one point because her hair was longer than mine! How did that happen? She’s younger than me, this is not okay! I took matters into my own hands and chopped her pigtails off. Man was my mom pissed. For my punishment, my mother decided that it would be fair to allow my sister to cut my hair. She was about 5 at the time. With the haircut she gave me, I never would have imagined that she would become the cosmetologist that she is today. Problems like this seem so irrelevant and unimportant to me now, but to little Bridget, this was a catastrophe. The problems that we are facing today will NOT ruin us. In a couple of years, that huge fight between you and a friend over a boy will seem so small. It is all a matter of perspective.

Deeper into the box, I found this letter that I wrote to Santa when I was younger and it made me really take a second look at the things that I find to be priorities in my life.

BLOG6

If I were to write a letter to Santa today, this list would change dramatically. However, I probably would have still asked for material things such as money, a new car, and of course that new puppy. I am so thankful that these items would be on my wish list for Santa. For many other people, this list could include a house to live in, food to eat, or even a family to be with. This little old box made me so grateful for everything that I have today and I want to do as much as I can to help those who may not be as grateful.

I would like to share a quote with you. It’s one of the many quotes that I live by and maybe you will find some use for it as well:

“Telling someone that they can’t be sad because others have it worse is like saying they can’t be happy because others have it better.”

 

3 thoughts on “A Matter of Perspective

  1. Valerie says:

    “The problems that we are facing today will NOT ruin us.” – I love that the truth we can see about children is actually the same as it is for us as adults. GREAT perspective!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

